G. Michael Crooch Receives 2005 Braden Award | Weatherhead

G. Michael Crooch Receives 2005 Braden Award

Posted 11.10.2005

On Friday, November 4th, G. Michael Crooch was presented with the Weatherhead Department of Accountancy's 2005 Braden Award. Dr. Crooch's history of achievements in accounting practice and accounting education led to his selection for the award.

After earning a B.S. and M.S. in accounting from Oklahoma State University and a Ph.D. from Michigan State University, Dr. Crooch joined the faculty at Oklahoma State as a Professor of Accounting. After his time in education he transitioned into accounting practice by joining the accounting firm Arthur Anderson, where he would eventually become a partner. In July of 2000, Dr. Crooch was appointed to a five-year term with the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) and was reappointed to a three-year term in July of 2005.

Other highlights of Dr. Crooch's career include:

  • Director of International Accounting Principles in Arthur Andersen's Professional Standards Group.
  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) representative to the International Accounting Standards Committee (IASC).
  • Served on the IASC Executive Committee.
  • Served as a member and Chairman of the AICPA Accounting Standards Executive Committee (AcSec).
  • Former member of the American Accounting Association Financial Accounting Standards Committee.

Dr. Crooch shared with those in attendance his first-hand knowledge of current topics in financial accounting. Following his presentation, Dr. Gary J. Previts, Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Integrated Programs and Professor of Accountancy, and Dr. Larry M. Parker, Chairman, Department of Accountancy and Associate Professor of Accountancy, presented Dr. Crooch with the Braden Award. Also in attendance was Michael Crooch's wife, Jan.

The Braden Award is named in honor of Professor Andrew Dale Braden, who served as an accountancy faculty member at the University from 1945 to 1985. It recognizes outstanding members and leaders of the Professional Accounting Practice Community and is bestowed “To recognize distinctive contributions by members of the professional practice community to the knowledge and advancement of the discipline of accountancy.” The 2005 presentation of the Braden Award was the 23rd award given by the Weatherhead School of Management.

Interested in learning more about Weatherhead programs? Request more information or apply now, or register for one of over 70 open enrollment courses through Executive Education.

Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University cultivates creativity, innovation, and purpose-driven leadership to design a better world.