GBSA president's message

GBSA president's message

Posted 4.22.07


Weatherhead Students,

Now that the year is coming to a close this is my final Weatherheadlines and I would like to thank you for allowing me to serve as your representative both inside and outside the Weatherhead community. It has certainly been a privilege and I consider it an honor to serve in this capacity. The success of GBSA was indeed a group effort. And even though you may not have received numerous e-mails from them or seen them as frequently as you have seen me; I can assure you that the team was working diligently and they are an incredible group of people both as a group and as individuals. So I would like to send a heartfelt thank you to the team.   

2006-2007 GBSA Team
VP of Academic and Student Affairs -- Christina Heinrich
VP of Finance -- Andy Male
VP of Social and Cultural Affairs & Casino Night Chair -- Matt Evans
VP of Communications -- Rishi Darda
VP of Student Organizations -- Chrissy Freeman
Accelerated Representative -- Dep Ahuja
1st year Academic and Student Affairs Representative -- Chetan Borkhetaria
1st year Communications Representative -- Cyrus Phansalkar
1st year Social and Cultural Affairs Representative -- Jesse Corn
MSM Representative -- Julie Marks
SLC Chair -- Chris Schron
Social Chair -- Ed Badstuber
Community Service Chair -- Matthew Fish
Alumni Affairs Representative -- Mehera May
International Representative -- An-Hsiang Cheng
Evening Representative -- Greg Solomon
Professional Council Representative -- Hugh Slater
GBSA Advisor -- Tim Slager
In December, I started a new tradition to acknowledge five students, who exemplify the Weatherhead way with the GBSA President’s award.  These students represent the school and themselves in a positive manner, contribute to student life in a productive way and go the extra mile to distinguish themselves from their colleagues. Please note: GBSA executive board members (elected) and GBSA support council (appointed) are not eligible to receive this award because they are expected to exhibit these behaviors. It was a difficult decision to only name five students. So the spring 2007 GBSA President’s award goes to:

  • Dionne Braddix
  • Matthew Stanton
  • Tatsunori Sasaki
  • Nithin Kalvakota
  • Katie Honn

The Faculty Auction, held March 23 and led by Christina Heinrich, raised over $7,000 for the Moving Forward Fund. It was a fun-filled evening for students, faculty, staff and alumni who bid on various graciously donated items like a night out to dinner, wine tasting, vacation home, concert, sailing, a night of games, etc.

A special thank you to all of the club presidents, Mimi Filsinger, Laura Watt and staff for your support and tremendous work with our school sponsored events.  All the best to my successor, Whit Tice, 2007-2008 GBSA president. I am confident he will do good things for the Weatherhead School.

Congratulations to all of the members of the Class of 2007 see you on May 20th!


Lynnette Jackson, MBA Candidate 2007
President, Graduate Business Student Association

Interested in learning more about Weatherhead programs? Request more information or apply now, or register for one of over 70 open enrollment courses through Executive Education.

Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University cultivates creativity, innovation, and purpose-driven leadership to design a better world.

News Archives: