Class of 2017: Graduate student awards | Weatherhead

Class of 2017: Graduate student awards

Posted 5.8.2017

On behalf of Dean Widing and the Weatherhead faculty, we are pleased to recognize the following students who have been selected by their peers for demonstrating excellence over their careers at Weatherhead:?

Annual Becker CPA Review Scholarship provides a scholarship covering 50% of the cost of the Becker CPA Review.  Each year two students are selected to receive these scholarships and often times are pursuing careers outside of public accounting. This year's recipients are: Kirsch Briel and Katelyn G. Sumpter

Directors Award for Outstanding Student in Masters of Accountancy is awarded to two Master of Accountancy students who not only demonstrate high academic achievement, but they have been leaders and active participants in the Master of Accountancy program, Beta Alpha Psi and the Department of Accountancy. This year's recipients are: Daniel M.Cronin and Lu Jiang

Director’s Award for Academic Excellence recognizes students with high academic achievement in the Master of Accountancy program. This year the recipients are: 

Ruijie Gao

Lilli Natalie Hooke 

Shilun Lu 

Gregory Michael Ott

Willard JJ Rathbun

Reuben GoldmanTreatman 

Grace Lok Xu

The Doctor of Management Scholar Practitioner Award recognizes an outstanding reflective practitioner. This year’s recipient is: James Richard Hemsath

The Doctor of Management Student Leadership Award recognizes students who demonstrate outstanding leadership in the DM program: 

Charles E. Bishop 

Jessica A. Shoop

The Executive MBA Leadership Award recognizes a student who demonstrates outstanding personal leadership. This year’s recipient is: Dennis Gerard Terez

The Federation of Schools of Accountancy Award is presented annually to the most outstanding Master of Accountancy student.  The FSA is an organization of accredited graduate programs in accounting, and its mission is to promote and support high-quality accredited graduate accounting programs in the United States and abroad. The Department of Accountancy is separately accredited and is a full-fledged and active member of the FSA.  This year’s recipient is: Taylor N. Lemke

The Outstanding PhD Award recognizes outstanding research by doctoral students. This year’s recipients are

Hongguo Wei, PhD, Organizational Behavior (2016)

Keimei Sugiyama, PhD Candidate, Organizational Behavior (2017)

The Rita Kicher Award is presented to a graduating part-time student at Weatherhead. The award recipient is recognized as an outstanding colleague in Cleveland's professional community. This year’s recipient is: ?Dasha Slobozhanina??

The Scott S. Cowen Student Leadership Award recognizes a leader and role model who contributes to the total community and stimulates the classroom experience. This year’s recipient is: Patrick Glicker

The Student Life Award recognizes a student who participates in and encourages student engagement. This year’s recipient is: Mary Elisabeth Smith

The Theodore M. Alfred Distinguished Service Student Award recognizes a student who participates in community service inside and outside of the Weatherhead community. This year’s recipient is: Yifei Chen

The Weatherhead Business Analytics Student Leadership Award recognizes a graduating business analytics student who has demonstrated leadership and engagement with students and made a positive impact on his fellow classmates. This year’s recipient is: Kyler T. Schoner


Congratulations to this year’s award recipients.

Interested in learning more about Weatherhead programs? Request more information or apply now, or register for one of over 70 open enrollment courses through Executive Education.

Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University cultivates creativity, innovation, and purpose-driven leadership to design a better world.