Graduate student awards 2015 | Weatherhead

Graduate student awards 2015

Posted 5.18.2015

On behalf of Dean Widing and the Weatherhead faculty, we are pleased to recognize the following students who have been selected by their peers for demonstrating excellence in their careers at Weatherhead:

Annual Becker CPA Review Scholarship provides a scholarship covering 50% of the cost of the Becker CPA Review. Each year two students are selected to receive these scholarships and oftentimes are pursuing careers outside of public accounting. This year's recipients are Jennifer Downs and William Andrew Volbers.

Director's Award for Outstanding Student in Master's of Accountancy is awarded to two Master of Accountancy students who not only demonstrate high academic achievement but also have been leaders and active participants in the Master of Accountancy program, Beta Alpha Psi and the Department of Accountancy. This year's recipients are Maya Raghu and Baixue Ma.
Director’s Award for Academic Excellence recognizes high academic achievement in the Master of Accountancy program. This year, the recipients are:
  • Lisa Michelle Chavez
  • Nicholas Lawrence DeVito
  • Xingtong He
  • Yang Liu
  • John William Morgan
  • Yeru Wu

The Doctor of Management Scholar Practitioner Award recognizes an outstanding reflective practitioner. This year’s recipients are Philip A. Cola and David P. Grogan.

The Executive MBA Leadership Award recognizes a student who demonstrates outstanding personal leadership. This year’s recipient is Sheilla Renee Lienarth.

The Federation of Schools of Accountancy Award is presented annually to the most outstanding Master of Accountancy student. The FSA is the organization of accredited graduate programs in accounting, and its mission is to promote and support high-quality accredited graduate accounting programs in the United States and abroad. The Department of Accountancy is separately accredited and is a full-fledged and active member of the FSA. This year’s recipient is ?Rachel Hannah Stone.

The MBA Outstanding Student Award in Marketing and Strategy recognizes academic excellence and contributions to the discipline and profession of marketing and strategy. This year’s recipient is Catalina Maria Briola.
The Outstanding PhD Award recognizes outstanding research by a doctoral student. This year’s recipient is Mai Trinh, PhD Candidate, Organizational Behavior.

The Rita Kicher Award recognizes a professional MBA student as an outstanding colleague in Cleveland’s professional community. This year’s recipient is Kathryn  Ai-Ling Teng.

The Scott S. Cowen Student Leadership Award recognizes a leader and role model who contributes to the total community and stimulates the classroom experience. This year’s recipient is Jagadish Kumar Ananda Murthy.

The Student Life Award recognizes a student who participates in and encourages student engagement. This year’s recipient is José Pablo Díaz Salazar.

The Theodore M. Alfred Distinguished Service Student Award recognizes a student who participates in community service inside and outside of the Weatherhead community. This year’s recipient is Jagadish Kumar Ananda Murthy.

Interested in learning more about Weatherhead programs? Request more information or apply now, or register for one of over 70 open enrollment courses through Executive Education.

Weatherhead School of Management at Case Western Reserve University cultivates creativity, innovation, and purpose-driven leadership to design a better world.