Braden Award | Weatherhead School at Case Western Reserve University

The Braden Award, named in honor of longtime professor Andrew Dale Braden, is awarded to an outstanding leader in the professional practice community who has made distinctive contributions to the knowledge and advancement of the discipline of accountancy.

Current Recipient

Jeffrey C. Thomson
President and CEO of the Institute of Management Accountants

Past Recipients

2020 No Award
Due to pandemic
2019 Christine Botosan
Member, the Financial Accounting Standards Board
2018 Cathy Engelbert
Former CEO, Deloitte U.S.
2017 Mark Weinberger
Global Chairman, EY
MBA and JD Alumnus of Case Western Reserve University
2016 Robert H. Herz
Former Chairman, Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
2015 Jeanette M. Franzel
Board Member, Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB)
2014 Judith H. O'Dell
President, O'Dell Valuation Consulting LLC
2013 Gene L. Dodaro
Comptroller General of U.S. and Head of the GAO
2012 James H. Quigley
Senior Partner, Deloitte LLP,
Former CEO, Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Ltd.
2011 Charles A. Bowsher
Former Comptroller General of U.S. and Head of the GAO
2010 Charles D. Niemeier
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board
2009 Donald T. Nicolaisen
2008 Dan M. Guy
2007 Gretchen R. Haggerty
United States Steel Corporation
2006 James G. Castellano
Chairman of the Board, RubinBrown LLP
2005 J. Michael Crooch
Member, Financial Accounting Standards Board
2004 Peter R. Bible
Chief Accounting Officer, General Motors Corporation
2003 J. Michael Cook
Retired Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Deloitte LLP
Serving on the Advisory Board of The Directorship Search Group
2002 David Mosso
Chairman, Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board
2001 Donald Kirk
Public Oversight Board
2000 Olivia Kirtley
AICPA Board of Examiners
1999 James Leisenring
Financial Accounting Standards Board
1998 Arthur Siegel
Independence Standards Board
1997 Michael Sutton
Securities and Exchange Commission
1996 Robert Mednick
Andersen LLP
1995 Robert Elliott
KPMG Peat Marwick LLP
1994 Edmund L. Jenkins
Andersen LLP
1993 Jerry D. Sullivan
Public Oversight Board
1992 Walter P. Scheutze
Securities and Exchange Commission
1991 Gerald A. Polansky
Deloitte & Touche LLP
1990 William D. Hall
Andersen LLP
1989 Gaylen Larson
Household International
1988 Robert May
Andersen LLP
1987 Dennis Beresford
Financial Accounting Standards Board
1986 Clarence Sampson
Financial Accounting Standards Board
1985 Mario Formichella
Ernst & Young LLP
1984 Robert Neary
Ernst & Young LLP
1983 Louis E. Levy
KPMG Peat Marwick LLP